Charter Members

The first Port Huron to Mackinac Solo Challenge took place on June 9, 1979. Twenty two skippers entered the inaugural, and seventeen of them hung on in blustery conditions to cross the finish line at Mackinac Island. Those seventeen were awarded Charter Memberships in accordance with the Constitution of the GLSS. They are:

Daniel Bare
Robert Branch II
James Douglas
Gregory Dunn
Ralph Eilberg*
Charles Eno
John Herbert
Ray Jacobs
Dave Jones
Fred Lindow
Bob Meyers
Geran Miller
Jerry Murphy*
Michael Richmond
Larry Rotta
Dennis Turner
Joe Vallee