Mike Silverthorne Memorial Trophy

The Mike Silverthorne Award was designed, constructed, and engraved by GLSS member Paul Schloop in memory of Mike.

Inscribed on the trophy is the following:

The Ship That Sails

I’d rather be the ship that sails
And rides the billows wild and free;
Than to be the ship that always fails
To leave its port and go to sea.

I’d rather feel the sting of strife,
Where gales are born and tempests roar;
Than settle down to useless life
And rot in dry dock on the shore.

I’d rather fight some mighty wave
With honor in supreme command;
And fill at last a well-earned grave,
Than die in ease upon the sand.

I’d rather drive where sea storms blow,
And be the ship that always failed
To make the ports where it would go,
Than be the ship that never sailed.


2003 Dave Rearick
2006 Jim McLaren
2008 Tony Driza
2012 Dan Pavlat
2015 Dan Pavlat
2020 Jeffrey Urbina